NEBRASKA SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION COMMITTEE ON CLASSIFICATION

Meeting Minutes March 20, 2024

The Classification Committee met on Wednesday, March 20, 2024, at Kearney High School. The meeting was called to order at 1:01 p.m. by Dr. Jon Cerny, NSAA District 3 Board of Director from Bancroft-Rosalie, who chaired the meeting.

Committee members present were Dr. JJ Toczek, Lincoln Public Schools; Dr. Dana Wiseman, Sutton; Dr. Nick Wemhoff, Fort Calhoun; Jeff Squier, South Sioux City; Tracy Douglas, Hastings; Justin Anderson, Central City; Craig Newcomb, Bertrand; Dr. Troy Unzicker, Alliance and Dr. Andrew Dick, Scottsbluff. Chad Zimmerman, Millard Public Schools attended via Zoom. Absent were Jason Alexander, Beatrice; Luke Ford, Elkhorn North and Jon Davis, Alma. Ex-officio members included NSAA Staff, Jennifer Schwartz, Jeff Johnson, Ron Higdon, Jeff Stauss and Colton Wierzbicki. Also in attendance was Wakefield Athletic Director Matt Brenn.

Committee members reviewed the classification proposals voted on by the membership in January. Proposals included: classifying the top 65 highest enrollment schools in Class A & B for basketball, volleyball and cross country; 8-man football eligibility number/adding a 3rd class and adding a 2nd class for girls wrestling.

The committee discussed the classification/competitive balance committee proposal voted on by the membership in January, focusing on the potential structure of the committee, the timeline for hearing appears and deadlines for a submission of appeals.

The committee discussed the Equity Competition Committee, a group formed by NSAA member schools, and created a list of topics for the Equity Competition Committee to gather information on and share the findings with the Classification Committee.

With no further business, the committee adjourned at 2:37 p.m.

Jeffery Stauss, Assistant Director

The next meeting will be held at the beginning of the 2024-25 school year.	